A Short Film “Boy”

While looking around on YouTube I found a short film entitled “Boy” which was directed by Lucas Helth Postma. It’s a film about a woman named Emilie who is a transsexual, and her mother is having a tough time accepting it. I would suggest you watch the film before moving on, because there will be spoilers.

I feel that this film did a very good job at showing the struggles a transsexual faces in a world that doesn’t quite comprehend such things. A transsexual is a person who believes they were born in the wrong gender, and will dress and act as the oppose sex. To people who don’t understand why some individuals feel this way, it would seem like some sort of disease. However, it is not. Just from watching Emilie, you know that she was going through a lot of internal struggles as her mother was jumping to conclusions. Emilie’s brother, Simon, did very good job at taking care of his sister. It takes a lot of guts to tell your own mother that she did a bad job.

I also feel for the mother as well. She doesn’t know or understand what is going on with her daughter, at least the film shows it that. I’m sure if she was told why Emilie felt this way, she might of changed her ways. It’s tough to tell, it’s a film, and it can only show so much. Which in the end, her mother seems a little more accepting. However, I’m a little confused when her mother said “she’s not my Emilie anymore.” She’s still the same person, she just dresses different. Maybe I’m looking into way too much. All in all, I think it was a very good short film, it had me teary eyed at times. What do you think?

Leave a comment